Jump to topic:

Philosophical theories of mind

Tim_Spin
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/2/2011 1:43:10 AM
Posted: 5 years ago
No one has posted in the philosophy forum for a day and that makes me sad. So I figured I'd start a thread on the different philosophical theories of mind. This thread will be for just discussing different theories(reductive materialism, functionalism, exc.).

Personally, I feel as though I would be more aligned with the type physicalist theory of mind. It's the theory that the mind is physical and that mental events such as thought, emotions, ideas, exc. are all different "types" of physical activities in the brain.

An example I've seen a lot while reading the literature is mental pains. A type physicalist theory of mental pains would say that mental pains are caused by C-fiber firings and all mental pains can be grouped into this type. Now of course I'm pretty new to the philosophy of mind so forgive me if I'm not making any sense.
Astonished, the talent agent asks the man what him and his family call their act.The man responds, "The Aristocrats!"
Cody_Franklin
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/2/2011 2:11:59 AM
I'll be the first to admit that I don't really have a super well-developed philosophy of mind (with respect to the basics). I'm probably a non-reductive physicalist and an epiphenomenalist.

As far as theories of self, I subscribe to narrative theories of self a la Velleman (who built on Dennett) and Hofstadter (who sort of framed it differently, but said the same sort of thing--you'll want to read I Am a Strange Loop).
Tiel
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/2/2011 2:24:05 PM
My Philosophy of the Mind: Substance Dualism.