Jump to topic:

Suggested reading before Kant

Rusty
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/6/2011 11:48:24 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
To start off, I'm a complete philosophy noob so if I misstate something, that's why.

If someone had an interest in epistemology among other things and wanted to be able to effectively read Kant's first Critique at some point in time as a goal, would there be a significant benefit from studying rationalism and empiricism beforehand? From what I understand, before opening up a third option, doesn't he critique each of these?

Assuming so, if you had to pick one book from each of these subjects, what would they be? I thought maybe Descartes and Hume would be the go to guys, but I'm not really sure. Would that be right? And if so, again, what works of theirs?

Oh, one last thing. Would that alone even be enough to get the most out of Kant? I'm hearing that he's extremely hard to read. If you agree, is that due more to his writing style or the depth of his thinking?

Thanks ahead of time.
popculturepooka
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/7/2011 12:35:10 AM
While reading the "classics" (Hume, Kant, Descartes) is good there is also a lot of value to be had in reading later scholars on them as well. They often illuminate many things that you probably wouldn't catch reading them directly.

Due to the fact that I'm biased towards the rationalist side of the debate (being one myself) I'll just suggest some books from my favored side. I'm sure some other people could give suggested works on empiricism. Anyways, as for rationalism, I think Laurence Bonjour is the go to epistemologist for a contemporary defense of rationalism - he also happens to be one of the best epistemologists working today. A lot of his arguments heavily incorporate Descartes' thoughts, too.