wiploc
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
4/18/2012 2:32:13 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Moving here from the comments thread of this debate:
http://www.debate.org...
Resolved: Any definition that conflates Atheism with Agnosticism is not Atheism by any sense.
wiploc
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
4/18/2012 3:02:21 PM
WxGeo wrote:
You believe the proposition all air breathers have lungs (L). It could be the case that indeed some air breathers don't in fact have lungs. Imagine an alien race where evolution just works differently for them. Would you count L as knowledge?

I don't know. I'm a JTB guy (justified true belief) even though I know it has been refuted. That is, I'm a layman. I know I'm wrong, but I don't know what's right, and I need a working definition in the meantime.

So, I guess I'll say there may be air breathers who don't have lungs. Since that may be, the belief that all air breathers have lungs is not knowledge.

There's no way for us to step outside of our noetic structure to discover if our beliefs are true.

Then why do you insist that I claim knowledge when I don't?

Of course some beliefs turn out to be wrong. They weren't at first proposed as such; we're arguing the same thing there.

You say I claim to know that a historical Jesus existed. I'm telling you that's not true. How can we be saying the same thing?

You would be right that not knowing what knowledge is doesn't mean we can't count everything and everything as knowledge. But that's not what I said. I said you can't preclude a BELIEF as knowledge. A belief can be later known if upon a good investigation.

_Some_ beliefs can be precluded as knowledge. I don't have enough justification for my belief about the historical Jesus for that to count as knowledge, even if the belief is true.