Jump to topic:

How much of a philosopher are you?

Eitan_Zohar
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/28/2013 10:33:21 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
1 -- I know pretty much nothing about "philosophy." My discussions on ethics, politics, or religion all appeal to common sense and have no basis in anything deeper.

2 -- I've read around a bit, and can discuss basic philosophical concepts.

3 -- I'm either a student of philosophy, or very well-read. I can hold arguments with real philosophers and come up with thoughts and concepts that aren't in the basic literature.

4 -- I'm a professional philosopher, and have written theses and argued extensively with others. I can justify my beliefs and ideals to those who are educated in them as well.

5 -- I am a master among philosophers. I have pioneered the study and every word that I write is treated with reverence by the intellectual community.

I'm definitely a 2.
"It is my ambition to say in ten sentences what others say in a whole book."
dylancatlow
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/28/2013 11:04:17 AM
I think a better scale would be: to what extent are you curious about the nature of existence and to what lengths do you go to satifiy that curiosity?
Eitan_Zohar
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/28/2013 6:32:35 PM
At 9/28/2013 11:04:17 AM, dylancatlow wrote:
I think a better scale would be: to what extent are you curious about the nature of existence and to what lengths do you go to satifiy that curiosity?

Not really. I'm talking about education here.
Sidewalker
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/28/2013 8:23:47 PM
I am an enlightened all-knowing being that can see directly into the very essence of reality.
"It is one of the commonest of mistakes to consider that the limit of our power of perception is also the limit of all there is to perceive." " C. W. Leadbeater
YYW
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/28/2013 11:27:33 PM