Jump to topic:

Questions on Parmenides

PeacefulChaos
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
4/19/2014 6:32:01 PM
Posted: 2 years ago
Recently, my Latin teacher gave me an assignment where I had to present Parmenides and his philosophical ideas to the class (with reality being uniform and indivisible and what not), and needless to say it was rather confusing, but I managed to give a pretty decent presentation.

Despite having to research it, however, I still don't feel like I fully understand this. I was hoping to have a debate on the topic of Parmenides's reality, but I don't feel as if I understand the topic well enough to give any good arguments for or against it. If anyone could address my questions, then I'd gladly appreciate it. I'm sure some of you have heard about him a million times, but I suppose I'm a novice in the realm of philosophy, and it would be great if someone else could help me on this.

I also realize I didn't really put the arguments in the proper 3 lined syllogism format, but just bear with me. I didn't really intend for them to be syllogisms, just arguments listed in a numbered format (eh ... whatever).

First and foremost, I'd like to know the purpose of the following argument (I summarize all the following arguments in my own words):

1. Anything we can conceive either exists or does not exist
2. Anything that does not exist is nothing
3. It is impossible to conceive a concept of nothingness
4. To formulate a concept, something must be thought of
5. We cannot conceive a concept of that which does not exist
C: Therefore, anything we conceive is something

I understand it, but I don't really see how it goes toward supporting his argument of how reality is. It's quite obvious that anything we think of must have substance, so what purpose was there in establishing such an argument? I recognize he uses this conclusion later on, but the way he uses it seems to be incorrect (the argument that he uses this conclusion in is below).