Jump to topic:

My conversation with Tim Maudlin

Sargon
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/11/2014 6:15:54 PM
Posted: 2 years ago
I have been researching experiments that the DDO RationalThinker mentioned to me as refutations of the Bohmian interpretation of quantum mechanics. Here is a portion of my conversation with the philosopher Tim Maudlin in relation to one of these experiments.

Dr. Maudlin,

I have some questions in regards to the Bohmian interpretation of quantum mechanics. I have read from physicists such as Brian Greene and Craig Callender that the Bohmian interpretation of quantum mechanics is empirically equivalent to all other interpretations. I have heard similar statements made by the philosophers Quentin Smith and William Lane Craig. However, anti-Bohmians are citing experiments such as the one by Shan Gao (http://image.sciencenet.cn...) demonstrating that it is not. As a teenage layman, I have a hard time deciding on an issue when both sides are experts on the issue. Could you shed some light on why some physicists and philosophers state that Bohmian mechanics is empirically equivalent to other interpretations in light of the evidence? The only reason I could think of is that Bohmian mechanics follows the Born rule (wavefunction squared) like all of the other interpretations, so it has to give the same results. However, this is so, then I have no idea how to explain these kind of experiments. As a philosopher and physicist, could you help me understand the implications of these experiments and the differences in beliefs among physicists in philosophers in relation to this issue?

Thank you,
-(Sargon's Name)l

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear (Sargon's Name),