Jump to topic:

Non-empirical knowledge

chui
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2015 8:23:30 AM
Posted: 1 year ago
Forgive me if the title of this topic is badly expressed. My background is in science not philosophy. I often get accused of scientism. So I am interested in examples of knowledge or methods of achieving knowledge that do not derive from experience. People often tell me that science is not the only way to gain knowledge but don't expand on this idea. So, what are the alternatives?
tahir.imanov
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2015 10:37:46 AM
At 1/10/2015 8:23:30 AM, chui wrote:
Forgive me if the title of this topic is badly expressed. My background is in science not philosophy. I often get accused of scientism. So I am interested in examples of knowledge or methods of achieving knowledge that do not derive from experience. People often tell me that science is not the only way to gain knowledge but don't expand on this idea. So, what are the alternatives?

There are some innate truths, we cannot derive using empirical method.
Logic - You cannot prove logical axioms by empirical method, that is why it is called axioms.
Mathematics
Morality
Language - Children make sentences which abides grammatical rules, before they know what morphology or syntax is. (They use verbs in their speech but they do not know what verb is.)
and etc.

Science is not only way to gain knowledge, because you cannot prove that science is only way to gain knowledge by using science.
This is red.
Raisor
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2015 4:26:14 PM

The alternative would be non-empirical reasoning like logic and mathematics.

Or philosophy like Kant and Heidegger that make epistemological and metaphysical claims based not on information gained from experience but on HOW we experience the world around us. Some may argue that this knowledge depends on the external world, but it is not scientific empiricism.