Jump to topic:

Mafia Theory: The Gettier Problem

RyuuKyuzo
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
4/9/2016 10:27:39 PM
Posted: 7 months ago
So, as some of you already know I recently started playing mafia (live only so far), and in the few times I've played I've noticed some interesting epistemological themes playing out that I want to discuss.

This may or may not become a series of threads of Mafia-theory. I don't intend for these to be lessons on playing mafia better, because God knows I'm not nearly experienced enough to justify teaching anyone how to play better (except for Rosalie, who sucks). These are just my observations.

Okay, onto the content.

For those of you who don't know, the Gettier problem is an issue calling into question the validity of using the "justified true belief" standard in epistemology for justifying knowledge-claims. That is to say, it is typically (or at least it was typically) accepted that for a thought to count as knowledge, it must be believed, it must be true, and it must have reasonable justification.

Gettier cases are where all three conditions are met, but you still cannot be said to have knowledge. For example, let's say you see a clock. The clock says it's 3 o'clock. As it happens it actually is 3 o'clock. From this you conclude it is, in fact, 3 o'clock. This would be justified true belief, as clocks are a reasonable means of telling time.

The problem is, unbeknownst to you, the clock is broken and always says "3 o'clock." Given this, your justification is wrong, and therefore your knowledge claim is effectively no more valid than a claim only comprised of true belief, which isn't considered rigorous for defining true knowledge-claims as it doesn't rule out the possibility that your knowledge-claim is only true by coincidence.