Jump to topic:

A new normative theory and a PhD thesis

DanielMcKay
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/2/2016 1:51:09 AM
Posted: 7 months ago
I am a PhD student in my second year and for my thesis I am writing, explaining and defending an entirely new normative theory called freedom consequentialism. Part of this is getting feedback and criticisms of my theory from all sorts of people and then answering them in my thesis. Some time ago I posted a chapter relating to the demandingness objection to this forum for feedback and got some useful responses, some of which will be discussed and referenced in my thesis. Now I find myself in need of feedback, counterargument and criticism for my first two chapters, which outline what the theory is and why we should accept it.

So, here's how this works:
* At the end of this post is a link to the first two chapters of my PhD thesis, not including the introduction, in a draft form (ignore the references section as my zotero malfunctioned and skipped some of the sources referenced in the text)
* Anyone who would like to read these chapters is very welcome to.
* If you have any ideas, criticisms, counterarguments or other feedback, post it here or send me a private message.
* If your feedback is intelligent or otherwise useful, I may ask for your name in a private message so I can reference you in the thesis
* This is your chance to be referenced in a proper academic work and have your say on an exciting new moral theory.
* Yes, I am open to suggestions of better names than freedom consequentialism

Link to first two chapters: https://drive.google.com...
1harderthanyouthink
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/4/2016 8:07:43 PM
*clicks on DDO forum*
*sees Danielle posted*
*quickly goes to thread she posted in*
*is disappointed she only posted one sentence*
"It's awfully considerate of you to think of me here,
And I'm much obliged to you for making it clear - that I'm not here."

-Syd Barrett