Jump to topic:

Paradox of Tolerance

Limsock
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/2/2016 9:05:08 PM
Posted: 6 months ago
Hello everyone, this is my first time visiting this site! I have a question that I'd like to pose and get some insight on.

There is a type of logical argument that goes a little something like this:
Person A: We should be tolerant
Person B: We should be intolerant, saying otherwise makes you intolerant.

Or for another example:
Judge: We should "live and let live". Guilty! sentenced to ___________.
Murderer: why are you punishing me, "live and let live"!

How can this paradox be resolved in a debate?
Is person A's or the judge's intolerance justified? why or why not?
ContraDictator
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/2/2016 11:39:36 PM
At 6/2/2016 9:05:08 PM, Limsock wrote:
This is why libertarians and free-speech advocates end up with their skewed view of the world trying to trigger SJW's on the daily.

They think that because 'freedom' includes the capacity to abuse people with your freedom that to impede the freedom to abuse is somehow immoral. They are idiots who think pure freedom is a good thing, and it is most certainly not.

Forcing tolerance and other means of left wing liberalism is merely how you keep your community stable and happy instead of letting everyone do whatever they want and abusing others.
I tend to fight any opinion, regardless of my agreement or disagreement to it. I believe to only fight opinions that you disagree with is a sign of a weak and rigid state of mind.
Bob13
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/3/2016 2:41:00 PM
Hello everyone, this is my first time visiting this site! I have a question that I'd like to pose and get some insight on.

Or for another example:

Tolerance is overrated. Some things should not be tolerated. Person A is a hypocrite, but the judge is justified in being intolerant of murder.
I don't have a signature. :-)
keithprosser
Add as Friend