Critical Thinking - Spot the Argument Flaw

OHHHSHAAANE
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/20/2016 2:43:39 PM
Posted: 4 months ago
Hi guys and gals,
I'm new to critical thinking and I'm stuck on a small problem trying to identify the flaw in a statement. I thought it might be fun to start a forum that people can try to deconstruct the arguments they post while also helping people learn.

Here's mine
---US hospitals treated hundreds of people hit by lightning last year, and less than
2% of these people subsequently died of their injuries. So if you"re hit by
lightning in the US, you"ll almost certainly survive.---

My intuition tells me that the 2% of people may have had underlying conditions such as heart defect, and the author does says nothing to assume I'm in good health. As such would that constitute an "incomplete comparison" in terms of using the appropriate terminology?

I also feel it may have something to do with the "base rate fallacy" where sample sizes may not be strong enough but given that the author seems to suggest that its accounting for lightning strikes I'm not sure if that fits appropriately for deconstruction.

Or possibly the gambler's fallacy assuming that in future the strikes won't be as deadly? or that it simply has to do with the US

What do you folks think?

Would love to chat and learn
SJM
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/20/2016 2:49:04 PM
At 7/20/2016 2:43:39 PM, OHHHSHAAANE wrote:
Hi guys and gals,
I'm new to critical thinking and I'm stuck on a small problem trying to identify the flaw in a statement. I thought it might be fun to start a forum that people can try to deconstruct the arguments they post while also helping people learn.

Here's mine
---US hospitals treated hundreds of people hit by lightning last year, and less than