Jump to topic:

Westerners: FREE TIBET!

Kleptin
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/24/2011 1:06:14 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
I was having a conversation with a fellow American Born Chinese the other day and we touched upon the curiosity of how most Chinese are fairly ambivalent about the status of Tibetan sovereignty while it seems that Caucasians are stereotypically easily excitable and opinionated about that particular issue.

I wanted to spark a 2-part discussion.

First, do you think it is a fair statement that many Caucasians seem to be strangely vocal about something that is so far divided from what should be their own personal political interests? Or is this just a faulty stereotype on my part?

Secondly, is there any legitimacy to Tibetan independence? Personally, I have little to no knowledge over it. My parents are of Hong Kong descent and thus, have little knowledge of Communist China policy since Hong Kong was under British rule during my parents' childhood. The general consensus among my family members and my other Chinese peers is that Tibet has been considered part of China for centuries upon centuries and given a fair degree of autonomy, and that the issue of Tibetan independence only started to become an issue recently in the 1900s with the political involvement of western nations who have no legitimate basis in their assertions or "propaganda".

This Western propaganda, we believe, is targeted at chipping away at Chinese unity and is what lead to a break in Tibetan-Chinese relations. Attempts to quell uprisings and riots that stem from this Western propaganda are misinterpreted as human rights violations and used to further fuel Western Propaganda.

Again, I speak from ignorance and this just summarizes hearsay among my social groups. Let's discuss?
: At 5/2/2010 2:43:54 PM, innomen wrote: