Jump to topic:

Anarchism Questions

DetectableNinja
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/28/2011 7:35:04 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
I'm not an expert, as I'm not an anarchist--but, correct me if I'm wrong, there IS such a thing as right/wrong in an anarchistic society: namely, violating a contract and murder are wrong. As far as enforcement and protection, the only thing suggestion I've heard is that people could hire private defense agencies, or actually hire a judge/court.
Think'st thou heaven is such a glorious thing?
I tell thee, 'tis not half so fair as thou
Or any man that breathes on earth.

- Christopher Marlowe, Doctor Faustus
Ragnar_Rahl
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/28/2011 9:43:42 PM
Right and wrong aren't properties of societal arrangements, they are properties of how one's goals interact with reality.

Judging from your question about punishment, I'd presume you were asking about law, not morality (right vs wrong).
It came to be at its height. It was commanded to command. It was a capital before its first stone was laid. It was a monument to the spirit of man.
Defensor-of-Apollo
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/28/2011 11:14:20 PM
At 11/28/2011 9:43:42 PM, Ragnar_Rahl wrote:
Right and wrong aren't properties of societal arrangements, they are properties of how one's goals interact with reality.

Judging from your question about punishment, I'd presume you were asking about law, not morality (right vs wrong).

It was worded poorly. Do anarchists usually look at the harm principle? I don't see anything in an anarchist society that would stop me from killing someone. I know I have a misconstrued view of it and want to fix it since it is, I think, close to my libertarian position.
HyenaD
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/29/2011 3:17:14 AM