Jump to topic:

Legal Issue in Legalizing Drugs

Khaos_Mage
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/24/2013 5:25:01 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
So, I kind of wanted to have a debate about this, but then I remembered I am not good at debating...

I used to be all for legalizing drugs for various reasons. However, as I think about drunk driving and diminished culpability, I wonder if legalizing drugs would have a similar effect on the legal system.

What are your thoughts?

Currently, if someone takes an illegal drug and does something illegal, it is not relevant that they had diminished capacity, because they engaged in a crime that lead to the event of another crime (similar to felony murder).
However, with alcohol, if I drink too much and get behind the wheel, my actions were legal up until I drove, at which point I wasn't able to think clearly (diminished capacity), therefore, I am not as culpable as someone who wasn't drinking.

So, if I were to get high (or stoned, or chasing the dragon, or whatever), and I do something stupid, am I culpable?
Like, let's say I was tripping on shrooms and panicked and shot my wife in the face thinking she was purple elephant who was going to eat me. Is that murder? Or is it a lessor level of crime?
My work here is, finally, done.
bossyburrito
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/24/2013 5:37:34 AM
That's murder. You accepted the chance that you could do that when you decided to do the drug.
#UnbanTheMadman

"Some will sell their dreams for small desires
Or lose the race to rats
Get caught in ticking traps
And start to dream of somewhere
To relax their restless flight
Somewhere out of a memory of lighted streets on quiet nights..."

~ Rush
Khaos_Mage
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/24/2013 5:39:44 AM
At 8/24/2013 5:37:34 AM, bossyburrito wrote:
That's murder. You accepted the chance that you could do that when you decided to do the drug.