Jump to topic:

Voting Systems

rockwater
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/27/2014 5:38:17 PM
Posted: 2 years ago
What voting system is best, regardless of the country? Second, what voting system would be best for the United States?

I'm thinking the US would be better off with either instant-runoff voting (with single-member districts) or single transferrable vote (with multiple member districts). The Senate is different so let's just talk about the House of Representatives here. To prevent there being hundreds of candidates to rank in order, there can be a first round where people just vote for their top choice and anyone who gets less than 5% is eliminated. The second round would then allow people to rank their choices. I think people should be able to stop ranking after there top 3 or so choices if they do not know anything about the other candidates or if there are certain candidates that they do not want their vote going towards no matter what - I am no expert in the math of voting systems so please correct me if this is not possible. Finally, I think that political parties should not be able to place their own preferences on the ballot, as happens in Australia (where you can vote for the Nationals, for instance, and just check a box where all the other parties are ranked in a way that the Nationals think would work out best for them in terms of the math).