Jump to topic:

The Flaw in My Anti-Anti-Discrimination Views

Khaos_Mage
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/19/2015 8:45:55 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
As some of you know, I value property rights in terms of discrimination, as I don't believe you have a right to my services. However, there is one legal argument I cannot reconcile, which, ironically, no one has ever brought up: the right to counsel.

Even before Gideon v. Wainwright, there was a right to counsel, which begs the question: why does a defendant have the right to my services?

Is it because I am a lawyer?
Is it part of the bar association requirement?
What makes my services to you more important then my individual rights? Why am I your "slave"? In the same vein, what about judges, police, and jailers?

How does this apply to businesses in general?
My work here is, finally, done.
wsmunit7
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/19/2015 9:05:26 PM
At 3/19/2015 8:45:55 PM, Khaos_Mage wrote:
As some of you know, I value property rights in terms of discrimination, as I don't believe you have a right to my services. However, there is one legal argument I cannot reconcile, which, ironically, no one has ever brought up: the right to counsel.

Even before Gideon v. Wainwright, there was a right to counsel, which begs the question: why does a defendant have the right to my services?

What makes my services to you more important then my individual rights? Why am I your "slave"? In the same vein, what about judges, police, and jailers?

BUSINESS, in general, is conducted in the public sphere, NOT on personal property. You seem to be arguing that your services to the GENERAL PUBLIC are subject to property rights. I think not.

Your automobile is your personal property. Does that give you the right to demolish it if you so choose, by crashing it into someone else's car (THEIR personal property) ? I think not.
Khaos_Mage
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/19/2015 9:10:26 PM