Jump to topic:

Does voting even matter

liltankjj
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/23/2016 10:29:12 PM
Posted: 9 months ago
I have for a while believed that voting on a federal level really dosesn't matter. If this is true why are we encouraged to vote so adamantly? Why do candidates campaign so hard? If this is not true and votes do count, please help me to understand how. This is my first time ever paying attention to a presidential election and also my first time voting.
TBR
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/23/2016 11:17:30 PM
At 2/23/2016 10:29:12 PM, liltankjj wrote:
I have for a while believed that voting on a federal level really dosesn't matter. If this is true why are we encouraged to vote so adamantly? Why do candidates campaign so hard? If this is not true and votes do count, please help me to understand how. This is my first time ever paying attention to a presidential election and also my first time voting.

Well... Let me ask why you think it doesn't matter? The party platforms are NOT the same. The results of either victory NOT the same. Why on earth do you think it would NOT matter who you vote for?
liltankjj
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/24/2016 2:33:42 PM
At 2/23/2016 11:17:30 PM, TBR wrote:

Well... Let me ask why you think it doesn't matter? The party platforms are NOT the same. The results of either victory NOT the same. Why on earth do you think it would NOT matter who you vote for?

Well, I've noticed a lot of things in just the primaries. One, in particular, the superdelegates with the DNC; furthermore, both parties have conventions that can completely ignore votes over a few deals. Another that is confusing is after primaries it is based on the electoral college. Too much to say that the voice of the people even matters.
liltankjj
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/24/2016 2:36:53 PM
At 2/23/2016 10:31:40 PM, Greyparrot wrote: