Jump to topic:

Could someone check my logic here?

nowinterweather
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/13/2012 10:17:24 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I just wrote this for yahoo answers, but I think everyone knows how that can go south pretty quickly. Copied from the site:

I'm a high school freshman, and with homework and all, I haven't had as much time to think this through as I'd like.

I don't want to base my recently-adopted unbelief on any false logic, so I'd appreciate if someone would check this for me. The following pertains specifically to what I have been taught about the God of the Bible at a non-denominational Presbyterian (make what you will of that) for the past three years:

In order for God to be God, he must be:

Omniscient (Hebrews 4:13, Isaiah 46:9–10 seem to support this in particular)
Omnipotent (Revelation 19:6)
Omnibenevolent (Romans 8:37-39, among many others)

I've yet to see anyone have any quarrel with any of the above.

In addition, I've been taught that the only feasible way to be admitted into heaven is to accept Jesus as a personal savior, although I understand that this is debated heavily amongst theologians and denominations alike.

Finally, God is the creator of all things, and has ultimate and unwavering judgement pertaining to a person's residency in heaven of hell (again, little to quarrel with here).