Jump to topic:

Fruit of the Spirit

stubs
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/7/2012 1:15:08 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
This was an interesting fact I learned in Greek today that I wanted to share with the other Christians on this site or anyone else that is interested. Some of you guys probably already know this, but I'm not that smart so I didn't haha.

Galatians 5:22-23 says:

"22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law."

In this verse the word for fruit is pronounced "karpos" (That's not how it's spelled, just how it sounds.) The word is actually singular meaning there is only one fruit of the spirit. Some people will read that and think there are 9, however there are not.

This also means someone can't say, "I'm not very good at self-control, but I have the rest of the fruit of the spirit." If you don't have that, then you don't have the fruit of the spirit for there is only one.

Just an interesting fact I wanted to share with anyone who was interested.

Thanks.
logicrules
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/7/2012 1:20:34 PM
At 9/7/2012 1:15:08 PM, stubs wrote:
This was an interesting fact I learned in Greek today that I wanted to share with the other Christians on this site or anyone else that is interested. Some of you guys probably already know this, but I'm not that smart so I didn't haha.

"22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law."

In this verse the word for fruit is pronounced "karpos" (That's not how it's spelled, just how it sounds.) The word is actually singular meaning there is only one fruit of the spirit. Some people will read that and think there are 9, however there are not.