Jump to topic:

Who REALLY goes by the OT?

Scott_Mann
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/5/2010 1:42:45 PM
Posted: 6 years ago
Hey, guys. I've been reading my Bible a lot lately. So far I'm at Chronicles. I'm no religion expert, however the first early books of the Old Testament really began to throw me off on the interpretation of what might be God.

For example, Deuteronomy was the chapter that really made me think how unusual certain beliefs are. (No offense to anyone who holds these beliefs.) One part of Deuteronomy that really grabbed my attention was Leviticus 18:22: "Do not practice homosexuality, having sex with another man as with a woman. It is a detestable sin." Myself being a Christian, however, this was still just something that I could never stomach. Before I read this, I never truly believe homosexuality was directly spoken out against in the Bible, and that all the Christian hatred towards gay people all came from some totally misinterpreted phrase. This passage just blatantly puts out an anti-gay stance.

Here's what I thought: if the Old Testament (or Torah) is what the Jews go by, then why do we always hear the Christian right speaking out against gay marriage? (Ted Haggard, etc, etc.) If Christians are to go by the New Testament and follow the word of Christ, then why do very devout Catholics and Protestants seem to sometimes follow, what appears to be, Jewish law? If this is true, why do we almost never hear criticism from devout Jews?

Is my interpretation of who follows which Testament completely wrong?
The more posts you have, the less value they contain.
wjmelements
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/5/2010 1:44:44 PM
I've already read the Bible. Read Ecclesiastes. It's about how we don't have a purpose.
in the blink of an eye you finally see the light
DevinKing
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/5/2010 1:48:06 PM