Jump to topic:

Why do you believe what you believe?

Cygnus
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/5/2014 11:41:00 AM
Posted: 2 years ago
Since I left the church in 2007, from time to time I find myself amazed and horrified when I think of what I believed. That the anti-christ is alive, that evolution is a lie straight from the pits of hell, that God made the expanse of the universe just for us (the arrogance of such thinking makes me cringe now), and most importantly that the Bible is absolutely perfect from cover to cover, even though I knew logically this wasn't true.

When I left I felt like a completely new person because I am no longer bound by the dogmatic influences of Christianity. I actually began to read books on evolutionary biology instead of acting like I was an expert in biology and physics. I can clearly see the influences that mystery and Hellenistic religions had on the origins of Christianity. I am able to think for myself instead of being told by Christians, "You ask too many questions, you just need to believe." Nor do I spend my entire life in absolute terror, thinking that God was going to send a lightning bolt through the ceiling and kill me because I started questioning things.

From failed prophecy after failed prophecy, to the moral failures of Christianity, to the absurdity that the Bible can be relied upon as a science book, I found that I was longer able to justify believing in something that I increasingly had no evidence for.

So, the question I have for you, isn't so much what you believe but why you believe it.
12_13
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/5/2014 12:43:50 PM
At 6/5/2014 11:41:00 AM, Cygnus wrote:

I believe what the Bible tells, because it seems to be true about everything it says and I think its teachings are good.

For example: