Jump to topic:

The Religious World History Fairy Tale in a N

Kyle_the_Heretic
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2015 3:18:54 AM
Posted: 1 year ago
While I worked as a correctional officer at Lompoc Penitentiary (and that's as detailed as anything will get about me), I spent a lot of time with an inmate who rejected my Christian beliefs. Being in what movies popularly call the hole (though they represent it as inaccurately as they can), the inmate had a whole lot of time, and used some of it to write me his version of religious world history, using the title of this topic.

I feel obligated to give a bit of history about the author. His name was Mike, but he insisted on being called Dixie. I was the only officer who refused to call him Dixie, and for that, he once cornered me in the laundry section, when no other officers were about, and told me if I didn't call him Dixie, he would sink his teeth into my neck and let me share his agony with AIDS. Even with full blown AIDS, Dixie was a powerfully strong man. So, Dixie it was. A short time later, after I had developed a rapport with Dixie, he begged me to forgive him for that incident.

Dixie was in the hole because he had taken the life of another inmate during a lover's quarrel. But aside from the threat he made to me, he showed no hostility toward the officers, so he was made an orderly of the hole, which meant he could roam the unit (or block, if you prefer) freely for about three or four hours a day. I worked in the hole more than anywhere else in the pen, so I spent quite a bit of time with Dixie, where he would often challenge my religious beliefs. One day I arrived at the hole, and Dixie handed me an envelope. That was usually a bad thing, it was either a heads up that someone was about to die, or a riot was in the planning. But I was relieved to see that it was just Dixie's version of creation and what followed.