Jump to topic:

Problems With Genesis

Nicholas_Hubel
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/15/2015 11:48:08 AM
Posted: 1 year ago
First of all I'd like to say this is my first time posting here so hello! I have been thinking about this lately and have not really heard it mentioned in any of the Hitchens or Dawkins debates, and would like to see what creationists have to say about this as well as other atheists. Creationists seem to argue that Genesis is scientifically accurate in regards to the origin of the universe, Earth, and life. When I read Genesis, however, I find that it is very inconsistent with science. All you have to do is read it:

Day 1: The Earth is nothing but a vast ocean of water, despite there being no sunlight to heat all of that water to a liquid state. It doesn't say where the earth came from. God creates light and calls it day, and he calls darkness night. There is even an evening and a morning. Despite there being a day and night cycle, however, there will be NO sun for another THREE days? Creationists argue that the "light" was actually referring to the big bang. However, the big bang should have come BEFORE the earth, so that there would be matter to gravitate and form our lovely planet. This says light came afterwards.

Day 2: God creates the sky, and the Bible refers to it as a "firmament" or a "vault" which is thought to reflect the ancient belief that the sky was basically a huge dome with the sun, moon, and stars sort of imprinted on it. No doubt this made sense at the time since this was well before we discovered the earth is round. But if this is the word of God, then how could God be wrong? Could the Bible mean something else when it uses these words?