Jump to topic:

Question To Pupils Of Biblical Studies

Yassine
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/27/2016 12:09:04 AM
Posted: 10 months ago
- I have a question directed at those who are studying or have some credentials in Biblical studies. I am not interested in personal opinions on the subject, AT ALL. So please do share an answer if you have one.

Disclaimer: I am no expert on the subject, in fact I only have a general idea about it. My inquiries, thus, might show my loose grasp on some of the details. I stand to be corrected.

- Basically, I want to know the extend of modern Biblical studies on whether it accommodates the classical Islamic view of mainstream Christianity in relation to the person of Jesus. Particularly, classically, as evidenced by the works of theologians such as al-Ghazali & ash-Shahristani, Muslims's view of the relationship between 'Pauline Christianity' & the original message of Jesus (pbuh) postulates the following:
1. Jesus (pbuh) was a practicing Jew, all his life.
2. Jesus (pbuh) had his own book/revelation: Evangel ('Injeel' in Arabic, 'the good news'), which was either different or at the origin of the Christian gospels.
3. Jesus (pbuh) was not crucified, rather someone else seemed to have been in his stead.
4. Jesus (pbuh) never claimed to be divine nor was he resurrected, rather it was Paul in his travels who, either due to fanaticism or misguidance, preached his divinity & resurrection...
5. The preachings of Paul are forms of polytheism inherited from gentile traditions, at the expense of monotheistic hebrew traditions.
6. The jews who followed Jesus (pbuh), as opposed to the gentiles, did preach the original Evangel before they were killed by the Romans.
7. The legacy of these teachings persevered until the time of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh), as evidenced by the beliefs of some christians in Arabia, such as Bahira the monk, Waraq'a Ibn Nawfal, Salman al-Farisi...
...etc.