Jump to topic:

Let us pretend!

ViceRegent
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/19/2016 6:07:26 PM
Posted: 6 months ago
Suppose you and I are part of a group of 100 people flying home from an atheist convention. Because I am a police officer, I happen to have been allowed to carry my gun on the plane. Unfortunately, the plane crashes, but all of us atheists survive and are stranded on a remote island with no hope of getting rescued. Because of the circumstances, we decide to set up our own community. By what morality shall we govern ourselves?
desmac
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/19/2016 6:09:56 PM
At 5/19/2016 6:07:26 PM, ViceRegent wrote:
Suppose you and I are part of a group of 100 people flying home from an atheist convention. Because I am a police officer, I happen to have been allowed to carry my gun on the plane. Unfortunately, the plane crashes, but all of us atheists survive and are stranded on a remote island with no hope of getting rescued. Because of the circumstances, we decide to set up our own community. By what morality shall we govern ourselves?

Are the only survivors atheists, steggsy?
FaustianJustice
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/19/2016 6:16:36 PM

I would suggest modeling one after the community we left, since (more than likely), we would be some what familiar with the 'rules'.
Here we have an advocate for Islamic arranged marriages demonstrating that children can consent to sex.
http://www.debate.org...
matt8800
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/19/2016 6:25:32 PM

The "rules" that empathy dictates.
Deb-8-A-Bull
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/19/2016 6:25:46 PM

Sure you would sit there and put to the group.
ok guys let's get some things straight first .
What morality should we govern ourselves by.?