Jump to topic:

Bizarre Observation

JustCallMeTarzan
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/7/2011 4:55:54 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
So I'm no scientist, and this may actually be completely normal.....

But when I microwave a cup of coffee, add my cream and sugar, then stir... I usually take the spoon out while it's still swirling and tap it on the edge of the cup to knock off any drips. But curiously, as the coffee swirl slows, the pitch of the sound the spoon makes goes UP, not DOWN.

One would think the faster the coffee is spinning and the hotter it is, the higher the pitch would be, no?
Lasagna
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/8/2011 9:35:11 AM
The swirling motion is complicating your observation - all that is being measured is the heat, which is rapidly cooling as soon as the coffee comes out (which is causing the sound change). I'm not sure exactly why, but when I have a really hot liquid in a cup, the structural integrity of the cup seems to diminish while it is in the hottest state. I often do a similar thing: I hit the spoon on the bottom of the cup (while it's inside the liquid) and wait for the tings to raise in pitch until they nearly disappear. When the liquid is at it's hottest, it's much easier to break the cup. The hot liquid makes the ceramic/glass weaker, and the low-pitched tings are representative of the fact that you are very nearly ready to bust it, which makes some sense.
Rob
RoyLatham
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/16/2011 12:11:05 PM
I see a major book on coffee cup physics ahead.

My thinking is that because the hot air is less dense, the spoon vibrates at a higher frequency. This is the same effect as using helium to get a high pitched voice. The vocal chords vibrate faster in the low-density helium.