Jump to topic:

Chemistry or Computer Science?

MrBrooks
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/4/2012 2:06:40 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I'm trying to become a patent lawyer and I need a degree in a science. I've always found both computers and chemistry interesting, and I can't decide which one I'd like to do. I was wondering if there are any would-be or current chemists and computer scientists that would like to inform me about what it is really like.
Thaumaturgy
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/4/2012 3:20:25 PM
At 7/4/2012 2:06:40 PM, MrBrooks wrote:
I'm trying to become a patent lawyer and I need a degree in a science. I've always found both computers and chemistry interesting, and I can't decide which one I'd like to do. I was wondering if there are any would-be or current chemists and computer scientists that would like to inform me about what it is really like.

Have fun with the patent law stuff! I'm a chemist who has been working over the past couple of years in patent-related stuff as part of my job (a small side area of my regular duties). I'm getting ready to go take my "vacation" while attending a class to prep for sitting the patent bar...gotta take it now before the new laws fully go into effect and the bar gets even more hard!

But here's my wholly uninformed 2 cents.

I like chemistry and the opportunities are manifold. The patent work in that area can become quite complex but never likely to be the issue of patent reform. Chemistry patents will always be around. Besides: chemistry is fun!

Computer science stuff is a bit more trickly. I"m a neoluddite when it comes to computer stuff, but it sounds like the patent opportunities around this area of tech are going to be quite contentious moving forward. The problems around software patents seem very tricky (in re Bilski and Bilski v Kappos).

As a lawyer you might have a great career being on a new forefront as this is battled.