Total Posts:17|Showing Posts:1-17
Jump to topic:

AMA: What constitutes scientific validity?

RuvDraba
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/22/2015 6:23:43 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
Hi. I'm a scientist by training and initial vocation, though not a scientist from one of the more 'contentious' sciences of biology, genetics, astrophysics or climatology. :)

My PhD was in automated reasoning -- think of Artificial Intelligence trying to prove mathematical truths. But I've taught science, trained scientists and engineers, and these days I consult to government on how to collect the information they need to make robust policy decisions. I suppose my field has given me a lot of exposure to what constitutes hard evidence and validity.

I'm fairly new to DDO, but I've seen a lot of argument here and in the Religion forum about what truth means and how we recognise it. So while I can't answer every scientific question, I'm happy to talk about what constitutes evidence and conclusive evidence in science, and what happens when science finds something unexpected.

This thread isn't just for the religious -- it's for anyone interested, but please feel free to ask me anything related. I'll answer if I can.
UndeniableReality
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/22/2015 10:19:08 PM
At 2/22/2015 6:23:43 PM, RuvDraba wrote:
Hi. I'm a scientist by training and initial vocation, though not a scientist from one of the more 'contentious' sciences of biology, genetics, astrophysics or climatology. :)

My PhD was in automated reasoning -- think of Artificial Intelligence trying to prove mathematical truths. But I've taught science, trained scientists and engineers, and these days I consult to government on how to collect the information they need to make robust policy decisions. I suppose my field has given me a lot of exposure to what constitutes hard evidence and validity.