Jump to topic:

Any recommended books on...

SNP1
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/15/2015 1:48:53 AM
Posted: 1 year ago
I am not too good at math, but I am growing more and more interested in chaos theory. I am wondering if anyone knows any good books on chaos theory and the mathematics behind it that I can read to learn about it? Thanks in advance.
#TheApatheticNihilistPartyofAmerica
#WarOnDDO
RuvDraba
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/15/2015 6:54:58 AM
SNP, not a text, but what looks like an interesting documentary, linked at right. Entitled High Anxieties - The Mathematics of Chaos and broadcast by the BBC, if you haven't seen it, at 59min, I hope it might be useful.
UndeniableReality
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/15/2015 8:17:59 AM
At 6/15/2015 1:48:53 AM, SNP1 wrote:
I am not too good at math, but I am growing more and more interested in chaos theory. I am wondering if anyone knows any good books on chaos theory and the mathematics behind it that I can read to learn about it? Thanks in advance.

It really depends on what your background in math is.
SNP1
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/15/2015 10:16:30 AM
At 6/15/2015 8:17:59 AM, UndeniableReality wrote:

Some calculus, though not too much.
#TheApatheticNihilistPartyofAmerica
#WarOnDDO
Saint_of_Me
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/15/2015 12:50:08 PM

Well...It is going to be a tad difficult to delve into Chaos too deeply without encountering at least a little bit of Math--as it IS a branch of Mathematics.

Since Chaos deals with how tiny variations in initial conditions of a given system can have a significant outcome on the final product, you are going to run into some Math on "rates of change." Thus, a bit of Calculus. And some Thermodynamics; as well a probability theory. Bayesian stuff, and some Statistical Math, too.