Jump to topic:

What are virtual particles? And...

Outplayz
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
12/28/2015 1:14:49 AM
Posted: 11 months ago
Don't they still have causation bc of their interaction with other particles?

I am asking this bc in the end of Stephen Hawking's documentary (Into the Universe) he uses that as an example of something that can come into existence without a cause.

I am also wondering... it is energy, but if i am reading it right, it can turn into matter. Again, is this what Stephen Hawking is referring to; that it's a particle of energy that comes out of nothing and can turn into physical matter?

I've been trying to find good sources to read about it, but the ones i have, make it sound like it is still from interactions of particles... Then again i am a layman, so it would be nice to hear about it if someone knows a thing or two more.
tejretics
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2016 12:15:34 PM
A virtual particle is a particle that emerges from a quantum fluctuation of energy in the quantum vacuum. The "uncaused" aspect of them comes from a hypothesis that Heisenberg's uncertainty principle allows for some energy to be borrowed ex nihilo, such that the time in which it is borrowed is lower than Planck time. But the uncertainty principle doesn't entail it, actually. The conservation of energy is fundamental, even in quantum mechanics. In fact, a vacuum state has multiple fluctuations that ensure it isn't actually an "absolute vacuum," and is what physicists call a false vacuum. The Third Law of Thermodynamics does not allow an absolute vacuum state within a closed system.
"Where justice is denied, where poverty is enforced, where ignorance prevails, and where any one class is made to feel that society is an organized conspiracy to oppress, rob and degrade them, neither persons nor property will be safe." - Frederick Douglass
Sidewalker
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/5/2016 7:27:56 PM