Jump to topic:

Science denialism....

Fkkize
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/19/2016 8:55:25 PM
Posted: 8 months ago
I am usually not very active in this forum -for a very good reason.
Most of the threads here do not deal with something actually worth discussing. Evolution denial, creationism, flat earth, "quantum mechanics demonstrates that.....", you name it.

I am just some random chemistry student. I don't understand the mathematical intricacies of physics and don't have the memorization skills required for biology. But I have some background in both.
When I see someone deriving, say, the quantum harmonic oscillator equation via the power series method, I understand a lot of the steps involved, but I don't believe I would ever be able to do that on my own.
I appreciate the skill involved and I appreciate the effort it must have been for whoever originally came up with that.
However, it is stuff like this one needs to understand before one can understand the intricacies of quantum mechanics in the slightest.

What amazes me in the most disgusting of ways is how people with literally no formal background in science who get their information from YouTube and blogposts have the audacity to think they understand jack about any of this and proceed to claim there to be no evidence for evolution or a spherical earth or that quantum physics demonstrates "beyond a reasonable doubt" we can influence reality with our mind.

To think you could acquire the knowledge necessary to debunk scientific theories that have been established for more than a hundred years from sources like that is arrogance so mind boggling, I find it hard to put in words.