Jump to topic:

SETI and erm, DNA

Dirty.Harry
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/17/2016 1:47:05 AM
Posted: 1 month ago
I wanted to raise the question of the SETI effort, that is the search for signs of "intelligence" beyond the earth.

It's curious how many atheists are excited and supportive of this, whereas they often ridicule those who wonder if DNA is also an indication of an intelligence.

Why is it legitimate to devise costly research for identifying intelligent design when it comes to radio signals but treated with contempt when a similar effort is suggested for other information sources (for example DNA)?

Clearly SETI rests upon algorithms designed to recognize evidence of intelligence in data - why does the source of that data matter?

Let the shallow here be aware - I'm a professional software engineer with a significant expertise in electronics, so please, no naive silliness.

Harry.
distraff
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/17/2016 4:27:13 AM
At 10/17/2016 1:47:05 AM, Dirty.Harry wrote:
I wanted to raise the question of the SETI effort, that is the search for signs of "intelligence" beyond the earth.

It's curious how many atheists are excited and supportive of this, whereas they often ridicule those who wonder if DNA is also an indication of an intelligence.

Why is it legitimate to devise costly research for identifying intelligent design when it comes to radio signals but treated with contempt when a similar effort is suggested for other information sources (for example DNA)?

Clearly SETI rests upon algorithms designed to recognize evidence of intelligence in data - why does the source of that data matter?

Let the shallow here be aware - I'm a professional software engineer with a significant expertise in electronics, so please, no naive silliness.

Harry.