Jump to topic:

Women Workers

timbeech
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/23/2011 3:50:37 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
According to the United States Department of Labor...

Top 5 Occupations of US women.

1. Secretaries and administrative assistants, 3,074,000
2. Registered nurses, 2,612,000
3. Elementary and middle school teachers, 2,343,000
4. Cashiers, 2,273,000
5. Nursing, psychiatric, and home health aides, 1,770,000

Does this not factor into the wage disparity we always here about? The glass ceiling is another name for it.

What do you all think?
belle
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/23/2011 4:10:50 PM
wow such an original argument /end sarcasm

while i agree for the most part, you also have to consider that many times women will be pushed towards these professions rather than simply choosing them for themselves (though thats also a large factor).

for example, i am studying biochemistry in order to work in a lab after i graduate and i was told by someone that i should just try and be a nurse instead because working in a lab sucks. wtf world! if i had been a man i am almost certain he wouldn't have suggested that to me.
evidently i only come to ddo to avoid doing homework...
InsertNameHere
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/23/2011 4:13:40 PM
These statistics don't really surprise me, considering women do dominate the service industry. It may be due to our maternal instincts or perhaps something else, I'm not really sure.
Danielle
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/23/2011 10:07:42 PM
At 2/23/2011 3:50:37 PM, timbeech wrote:
Does this not factor into the wage disparity we always here about? The glass ceiling is another name for it.