Jump to topic:

No Risk Society

innomen
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/2/2012 3:48:00 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
A million years ago when at Boston College I studied this idea of a no risk society, and that was the direction we were going. It wasn't a favorable prediction for the future, and much of the cautions that I studied are now our reality. Oddly enough I cannot find my books on the subject.

Our society continues to try and mitigate as much risk for the individual as possible in every way possible. It's normal to want to reduce your exposure to unnecessary risk, but is it normal to create a society where the individual has a constant security net beneath him, removing the risks of living as it once was? Taking great calculated gambles in life is generally when great advances and profits are made in life. Is this normal for the human animal to live in a society where risks are constantly being removed or mitigated? Is it good for the individual to walk through life knowing he is ultimately being taken care of by the state?
bossyburrito
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/2/2012 3:53:22 PM
I honestly think that if we become that safe and sure, there will be nothing more to advance. I see no harm in this.
#UnbanTheMadman

"Some will sell their dreams for small desires
Or lose the race to rats
Get caught in ticking traps
And start to dream of somewhere
To relax their restless flight
Somewhere out of a memory of lighted streets on quiet nights..."

~ Rush
MouthWash
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/2/2012 4:20:45 PM
*cough* Uh, why was my post deleted?
"Well, that gives whole new meaning to my assassination. If I was going to die anyway, perhaps I should leave the Bolsheviks' descendants some Christmas cookies instead of breaking their dishes and vodka bottles in their sleep." -Tsar Nicholas II (YYW)
innomen
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/2/2012 4:25:30 PM