Jump to topic:

Waiting Tables

R0b1Billion
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/9/2013 8:28:28 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
So I used to wait tables, but I got sick of it because SOCIETY SUCKS. I work as a barista now, and I have some limited table-serving duties - mainly just to bring out the food and bus the table. The other day these two $*%#( $%@(@#s came in, and I was in a hurry and approached the wrong table on the way over to them. We have lots of tables and I didn't take their order personally, so I started to deliver their food to the wrong people and then realized it was theirs so I brought it over to them and went back to my business. After they had left, I noticed a quarter on the table.

For those of you who have not any waiting experience, let me explain what a quarter on the table means. We are not actually a full-service place, like I said, and there is a tip-jar by the register but most people certainly don't tip at the table. Anyway, a quarter is a sign that a tip was intended to be left (as opposed to either forgetting to leave one or not ever intending to leave one) but they are leaving as little as possible just to let you know how much they are disappointed.

Like I said, most people leave nothing and I don't really work for tips, but this really got me thinking about society in general and why I refuse to actually be a waiter anymore - people suck. They do. When people spend money, they feel deserved of your products and services. They don't look at themselves as privileged to be an American and surrounded by luxuries while the rest of the world starves, they don't appreciate you for what you do for your efforts, they simply decide that since they have money, they deserve what you have because, hey, they get treated like sh!t at work themselves so why should they treat you any better?