Celiac Disease On the Rise

R0b1Billion
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/27/2013 10:40:52 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
http://www.mayo.edu...

Celiac disease is the impetus behind the new surge of gluten-free products. I work in a restaurant, and there are so many gluten-free people coming in to us nowadays that we are strongly considering restructuring our menu. Celiac was once a rare and unheard of condition, but it is becoming much more prevalent now.

People with Celiak cannot consume wheat. No breads, pastas, or most carbs (potatoes are OK). Why exactly this condition is on the rise nobody knows; some people talk about hybridization of the plants we're using, GMOs, or even our increased sanitization (and subsequent lack of bacteria for our immune system to fight). I would say that one thing is clear, however: whatever the cause may be, it's probably going to come down to something we are doing now that we didn't do before because of our technological "progress" and lack of respect for ourselves and our environment.