Secularism

mbrown80
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/3/2013 1:56:08 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
Hey everyone,
I'm new to this sort of thing. I was wondering if I could pick your educated brains... Why do you think our society has went from a more religious society to a more secularized one? A discussion would really help jump start my brain. I'm doing research for a paper.
Thanks! Megan
Mysterious_Stranger
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/3/2013 4:46:22 AM
Society has definitely become more secular as time has gone on, state religions are being toned down to the point of which they have close to no influence on society. People of different faiths, backgrounds e.c.t live in the same neighbourhoods and peacefully co exist. It seems at last that people have grown a little more intelligent compared to their idiotic God fearing past.
Turn around, go back.
mbrown80
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/3/2013 8:00:44 AM
At 11/3/2013 4:46:22 AM, Mysterious_Stranger wrote:
Society has definitely become more secular as time has gone on, state religions are being toned down to the point of which they have close to no influence on society. People of different faiths, backgrounds e.c.t live in the same neighbourhoods and peacefully co exist. It seems at last that people have grown a little more intelligent compared to their idiotic God fearing past.

Do you think this has happened because of the advancement of technology? Society has greater access to knowledge? Have we become more secular because it has allowed us to have more personal freedom and not be tied down to just one certain set of ideas and beliefs?
themohawkninja
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/3/2013 8:03:59 AM