Jump to topic:

Morality does not exist.

Fungo
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/14/2010 11:53:22 PM
Posted: 6 years ago
Hi, I'm a newb please don't kill me. And PoeJoe promised me you won't.

I have a little proposition to make, and I welcome all feedbacks.

I do not believe that morality or conscience exists. I believe it's called Psychological Egoism.
Demonstration: You're in a store, and you know that if the cashier gave you extra change, it'll have to come out of his pocket. He gives you $20 extra change, most people would return the money.
The same situation, except he gives you a penny; most people would NOT return the money. Why?
Some will say that because it is negligible. who cares about a penny?
The reason it is negligible is because it has low monetary value; that means that conscience hinges NOT on something innate, as most agree, but instead depends on something artificial, like monetary value.

Moreover, if a penny is negligible, and keeping the penny from the clerk not wrong, I should be also allowed to take pennies from anyone. If someone's just sitting at a table counting pennies, it is fine for me to take their penny! In both cases, 1 person loses a penny and 1 person gains a penny. Why the difference in judgement? (Please tell me if I'm not explaining this clearly)

Another scenario: There is significantly more mass murder/rape in Africa than in Western Europe. People who conduct mass murder/rape are not considered moral/have a conscience. Why are Africans more immoral? Is there something wrong with them? (This is sarcasm/question directed to proponents of morality.)

I also propose that there does not exist a free choice, and that all decisions are rational. Every single decision is made after weighing of benefits, and one ALWAYS choose the way that gives HIMSELF the most benefit. Something like predeterminism. This also makes morality invalid.