Jump to topic:

Look when you cross the road?

R0b1Billion
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/24/2016 1:07:09 PM
Posted: 2 months ago
I've encountered a mysterious phenomenon on a regular basis now and I'd like to discuss it. It seems that pedestrians who cross the street in front of my path of driving often don't bother to look to see if I am paying attention enough to kill them with my car. They will cross, knowing they have the right of way, and when I approach they will simply assume I am going to brake for them. I always do of course and I am an attentive driver, but wouldn't it make sense that if you cross you will continue to watch for traffic that might hit you?

Do you notice this while you are driving as well? I live in a sparsely-populated suburb (green bay) so we aren't exactly booming with pedestrian traffic, but maybe that is the problem - people aren't as street-smart about pedestrianism here.

Otherwise, I was wondering if there was another reason for it. Could it be that people are simply too proud to look? Is there a little bit of spite in that motivation to refuse to watch for the driver to make sure they are stopping? Perhaps, since they know they have the technical right of way, they feel it is beneath them to have to watch for cars. Another reason I thought of is that they are motivated by the prospect of being able to sue the driver. Hasn't society shown pretty convincingly that giving up anything, even your physical body, is worth the opportunity for a cash-grab?
Beliefs in a nutshell:
- The Ends never justify the Means.
- Objectivity is secondary to subjectivity.
- The War on Drugs is the worst policy in the U.S.
- Most people worship technology as a religion.
- Computers will never become sentient.
R0b1Billion
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/24/2016 2:16:47 PM
At 9/24/2016 1:16:59 PM, Smithereens wrote: