Jump to topic:

Best Customizable PC

Reason_Alliance
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/7/2012 2:50:37 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I'm totally clueless about Computer Engineering, but I am a Geo-spatial Information Systems technician specifically working with ArcGIS among other programs simultaneously.

I want to build a personal PC that screams!

Can anyone recommend the best possible way to go about engineering a PC over time as I'm able to buy & swap out more parts?

Thanks!
JaxsonRaine
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/8/2012 3:45:16 AM
OOH OOH, I can help!

Tomshardware.com :D

Depending on your budget:

http://www.tomshardware.com...

Or find a pricepoint(usually something like 500/1000/2000) here:

http://www.tomshardware.com...

Shop at newegg. Profit.
twocupcakes: 15 = 13
JaxsonRaine
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/8/2012 3:46:37 AM
Also, if you want to provide any more information, questions, or whatever, I'll try to help. Cheers!

Building your own is def. the way to go. You get better performance and absolutely save money over the long haul.
RoyLatham
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/9/2012 4:28:39 PM
There is a good magazine/website called MaximumPC http://www.maximumpc.com... that covers custom building extensively. They test and recommend components and publish what they consider to be the best configuration for various price points.

Building a PC is not very difficult for those with the inclination. I've built several. The biggest pain is usually software issues like getting the drives formatted. My experience is that it isn't cheaper than buying one already constructed, but you get exactly what you want and you learn useful repair skills.
JaxsonRaine
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/9/2012 5:34:15 PM
At 7/9/2012 4:28:39 PM, RoyLatham wrote: