Total Posts:10|Showing Posts:1-10
Jump to topic:

Xbox 360 to Laptop Screen Cable?

GeoLaureate8
Posts: 12,252
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2012 10:07:45 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
How do I connect my 360 to my new laptop?
Do you need S-Video or VGA cable?
And is it possible for it to be in HD?
"We must raise the standard of the Old, free, decentralized, and strictly limited Republic."
-- Murray Rothbard

"The worst thing that can happen to a good cause is, not to be skillfully attacked, but to be ineptly defended."
-- Frederic Bastiat
lewis20
Posts: 5,093
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2012 6:10:24 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Don't know that that's possible. To use your laptop screen as a tv for your xbox?
"If you are a racist I will attack you with the north"- Abraham Lincoln

"Do not wear clothing woven of two kinds of material" - Leviticus 19 19

"War is a racket" - Smedley Butler
GeoLaureate8
Posts: 12,252
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2012 7:23:33 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/4/2012 6:10:24 PM, lewis20 wrote:
Don't know that that's possible. To use your laptop screen as a tv for your xbox?

It's possible, I just don't know if hd is guaranteed and which cable to use.
"We must raise the standard of the Old, free, decentralized, and strictly limited Republic."
-- Murray Rothbard

"The worst thing that can happen to a good cause is, not to be skillfully attacked, but to be ineptly defended."
-- Frederic Bastiat
Koopin
Posts: 12,090
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2012 10:40:43 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Anything is possible with making a screen on another device. I don't know how to do Xbox 360 to laptop, but I do know that if you use a VGA you won't have audio capabilities.

I spent a good amount of money trying to find the best way to hook up my laptop to my TV so I can stream NFL Football.
kfc
lewis20
Posts: 5,093
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2012 10:47:44 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/4/2012 10:40:43 PM, Koopin wrote:
Anything is possible with making a screen on another device. I don't know how to do Xbox 360 to laptop, but I do know that if you use a VGA you won't have audio capabilities.

I spent a good amount of money trying to find the best way to hook up my laptop to my TV so I can stream NFL Football.

Laptop and TV don't have HDMI? What is this 2007?
"If you are a racist I will attack you with the north"- Abraham Lincoln

"Do not wear clothing woven of two kinds of material" - Leviticus 19 19

"War is a racket" - Smedley Butler
Korashk
Posts: 4,597
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/5/2012 12:26:21 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/4/2012 7:23:33 PM, GeoLaureate8 wrote:
At 9/4/2012 6:10:24 PM, lewis20 wrote:
Don't know that that's possible. To use your laptop screen as a tv for your xbox?

It's possible, I just don't know if hd is guaranteed and which cable to use.

If it's possible you can use an HDMI cable and join the rest of us in the future.
When large numbers of otherwise-law abiding people break specific laws en masse, it's usually a fault that lies with the law. - Unknown
Mirza
Posts: 16,992
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/5/2012 3:34:28 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/5/2012 12:26:21 AM, Korashk wrote:
If it's possible you can use an HDMI cable and join the rest of us in the future.
Nope, not if his laptop has HDMI out only. (Which I think most do.) He needs an external box. If connected via HDMI-to-DVI, the sound will not be HD quality, and must be connected using other cables.
Koopin
Posts: 12,090
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/5/2012 9:04:11 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/4/2012 10:47:44 PM, lewis20 wrote:
At 9/4/2012 10:40:43 PM, Koopin wrote:
Anything is possible with making a screen on another device. I don't know how to do Xbox 360 to laptop, but I do know that if you use a VGA you won't have audio capabilities.

I spent a good amount of money trying to find the best way to hook up my laptop to my TV so I can stream NFL Football.

Laptop and TV don't have HDMI? What is this 2007?

I had a TV from 2005. Finally upgraded.
kfc
GeoLaureate8
Posts: 12,252
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/5/2012 2:17:25 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I bought an HDMI cable yesterday, but I'm not sure if my laptops HDMI port is for input. It's likely i'll have to buy a tv tuner or the setup that Mirza suggested.
"We must raise the standard of the Old, free, decentralized, and strictly limited Republic."
-- Murray Rothbard

"The worst thing that can happen to a good cause is, not to be skillfully attacked, but to be ineptly defended."
-- Frederic Bastiat
1dustpelt
Posts: 1,970
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/9/2012 3:42:58 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
HDMI is the best, but not all laptops or tvs have the ports.

I would recommend VGA or S-Video
Wall of LOL
"Infanticide is justified as long as the infants are below two" ~ RoyalPaladin
"Promoting female superiority is the only way to establish equality." ~ RoyalPaladin
"Jury trials should be banned. They're nothing more than opportunities for racists to destroy lives." ~ RoyalPaladin after the Zimmerman Trial.