Total Posts:4|Showing Posts:1-4
Jump to topic:

Establishing a Blog

Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
4/11/2013 5:20:22 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
What advice or experience do the people of DDO have with regards to the creation and maintenance of blogs?

I am in the middle of researching the viability and effectiveness of establishing a blog via a free hosting service (say, Wordpress or Blogger) . It should be noted that part of the reason I'm using a free service is that my coding abilities are rather limited (I'm an amateur at python) . While I will be doing extensive research of my own, I thought that DDO would have a high percentage of people who have written their own blogs given the assertive nature of many on the forums. A few questions:

1. How significant is the lack of a domain name?
2. Do free hosting services garner many readers on average as opposed to paid services (your own website) ?
3. How significantly detrimental is a lack of coding ability to website design?
4. Is it worth establishing a blog considering the above answers?

I am also happy to hear of all experiences with blogs, particularly your own experience in creating blogs.

My thanks in advance to those who reply.
"Tis not in mortals to command success
But we"ll do more, Sempronius, we"ll deserve it
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
4/14/2013 7:41:59 PM
First of all, I don't have a blog. I made one on WordPress once but forgot to post on it after like, the second time and now it's gone. Anyway, I can still answer some of your questions.

1) Domain name
If you can afford to register a domain name, do it. Otherwise, don't worry about it. I see lots of popular blogs on both sides of the fence.
2) Coding experience & Free services