Jump to topic:

Operating System

Vi_Veri
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2010 10:47:20 PM
Posted: 6 years ago
So I need to buy an operating system for a laptop my wonderful girlfriend is gifting me with :)

I've heard a lot of people talk about how wonderful Linux is and how I should give it a try. I've used Macs before, so I'm use to them as well. I have been using Windows for the past 4 years, though.

What Operating System would you guys recommend me investing in?
I could give a f about no haters as long as my ishes love me.
deathdebater
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2010 10:49:28 PM
Windows 7 hands down. Check and see if your college offers it free/at a huge discount. Students can buy windows 7 for 30 bucks at my school or if they are taking a free computer course they can download it and burn it to a disk free using MSDNAA
omelet
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2010 10:53:40 PM
At 1/4/2010 10:47:20 PM, Vi_Veri wrote:
So I need to buy an operating system for a laptop my wonderful girlfriend is gifting me with :)
>Buying an operating system
laughingelfman.jpg

Seriously, if you're proficient with computers at all you should be fine with Linux, especially if you go with one of the easier-to-learn distributions. I personally recommend Xubuntu.

Otherwise, just plunder a different operating system.
wjmelements
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/5/2010 6:38:56 AM
I've heard good things about Linux, but I'd take Windows 7 at the moment.
in the blink of an eye you finally see the light
MikeLoviN
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2010 9:15:34 AM
At 1/5/2010 7:14:04 AM, deathdebater wrote:
At 1/4/2010 10:53:40 PM, omelet wrote:
Linux,
easier-to-learn distributions

BWAHAHA