Total Posts:2|Showing Posts:1-2
Jump to topic:

Seven mansions

2/4/2017 12:24:00 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
At 2/3/2017 10:18:07 PM, janesix wrote:
Are st. Teresa's seven mansions the seven chakras?

From a quick overview of what it is, St. Teresa seems to be writing down her own meditative experiences. Naturally, as a Christian, she will view them through a Christian lense, so what the Hindus might call "Union with Brahman" or the Buddhists "Dwelling in Samadhi", she calls "Marriage with God".

From a Buddhist point of view, she is talking about here experiences in a deep meditative absorption, also called Jhanas. Jhanas can be really blissful and can be mixed up with liberation or union with a higher force. Classically, there are four form Jhanas and four formless Jhanas (where you do not longer perceive your body while inside it).

I see no immediate references to the Chakras.

By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.