What is your opinion on juveniles being tried as adults?

Posted by: Stefy

Vote
15 Total Votes
1

Yes, but only for the most serious crimes.

10 votes
2 comments
2

Never no matter what the crime. Thats why we made them a seperate justice system in the first place.

4 votes
1 comment
3

Yes. There should not be a juvenile justice system.

1 vote
0 comments
Leave a comment...
(Maximum 900 words)
Stefy says2015-05-22T21:52:29.9038585-05:00
UtherPenguin: By juvenille i mean under 18 or 17 depending on your state.
OpinionPersom121 says2015-05-23T00:13:27.5873979-05:00
I feel it depends on the crime committed these juveniles have done and whether they new what they've done. For example if a juvenile was lets say on a drug whether its legal or not if that drug were to have some effects on you and you were not aware of what you've done then I feel they shouldn't necessary be trialed as adults but if these juveniles were aware of what they were doing then I feel they should be tried as an adult. As I stated before it really depends on the circumstances and the situation.
Stefy says2015-05-23T07:57:21.7940279-05:00
I dont believe it depends on the crime personally. The whole point of the juvenile system is that kids are too young to either be in adult prison and also their brains have not fully developed. We know that when in comes to druga and robbery but not with the worse crimes even though their brains are still just as undeveloped. If they grt tried as an adult theres almost zero chance of rehab efforts, which for an underage murderer or rapist with a developing brain is needed.
OpinionPersom121 says2015-05-23T22:57:16.7763717-05:00
I see your point to me i just think it depends on the crime and I guess their age as well but i do see your reasons in this too
Stefy says2015-05-24T11:58:07.7937321-05:00
Yeah i can see both too. Ots not one wherebi cant understand the other side i just think they should be totally seperate. Anyway its an interesting question :)
OpinionPersom121 says2015-05-24T12:50:31.6487417-05:00
I was just wondering were you also talking about all ages or just a specific age?
Stefy says2015-05-24T13:28:18.8236729-05:00
Legal juveniles. So under 18 (in some states its seventeen)
OpinionPersom121 says2015-05-24T13:48:38.6318993-05:00
Oh ok thanks =)

Freebase Icon   Portions of this page are reproduced from or are modifications based on work created and shared by Google and used according to terms described in the Creative Commons 3.0 Attribution License.

By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.